Lydd Town Museum, offers five display rooms. The original 1890 building that housed and still houses the restored horse drawn Merryweather manual fire engine. The system to call the firemen to the station as used in the 1920s can be operated. Ring the bell to wake everyone!

Another room is home to old toys, books & dolls, ALL of which can be played with, as long as you are careful.

Go through the kitchen parlour area into the back room to see the restored horse drawn bus transport from railway station to army camp, landau carriage still used to carry the “Queen” on Lydd Club Day and unique wide wheeled horse-drawn beach cart used on Dungeness shingle. Also Lyddite chick hatchery wall and exhibition of local farming implements.

Closed until further notice

  • Opening times:
    • Bank holiday weekends: Sat, Sun & Mon, 2.30pm to 5.00pm
    • 15th June , 2.30pm to 5.00pm
    • July 21st to September 15th, Daily, 2.30pm to 5.00pm
    • 21st September until 27th October, Sat & Sun , 2.30pm to 5.00pm
  • Cost: Free entry

Telephone: 01797 366566

The Old Fire Station, Queens Road, Lydd, Romney Marsh, TN29 9HL